Digital humans the art of the digital double
Ever wanted to know how digital doubles are created in the movie industry? This course will give you an insight into how it's done.
# 1 27-07-2011 , 06:11 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937

Hot key for dividing grid mesh?

Does anyone know the Hot key to toggle the intensity of the grid?

# 2 27-07-2011 , 07:23 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
By this i mean, adding divisions... Here's a picture.

Attached Thumbnails
# 3 27-07-2011 , 11:26 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
I don't know if there is a procedure to cycle through different grid densities but it's easy enough to script one and slap it on a custom hotkey.user added image

Code:
{
        //The light med and heavy values are used for their corresponding grid densities
        //Change them if you want.
        int $lightSpacing               = 50;                   //Value for lighter grid density
        int $medSpacing                 = 10;                   //Value for medium grid density         
        int $heavySpacing               = 5;                    //Value for heavy grid density
        int $currentSpacing             = `grid -q -spacing`;   //Value for current grid density
        string $gridSpacingHeadsUP      = "Grid spacing is ";   //Value for heads up message     
        
        //If equal to lightSpacing & greater than medSpacing
        //set grid spacing to medium & print heads up msg.
        
        if (($currentSpacing <= $lightSpacing) && ($currentSpacing > $medSpacing )){
                grid -spacing $medSpacing;
                headsUpMessage ($gridSpacingHeadsUP + $medSpacing);
                
        //If less/equal to medSpacing & greater than heavySpacing
        //set grid spacing to heavy & print heads up msg.
                
        }else if (($currentSpacing <= $medSpacing) && ($currentSpacing > $heavySpacing )){
                grid -spacing $heavySpacing;
                headsUpMessage ($gridSpacingHeadsUP + $heavySpacing);
                
        //If equal/less than heavySpacy set grid spacing to light & print heads up msg.
        
        }else if ($currentSpacing <= $medSpacing){
                grid -spacing $lightSpacing;
                headsUpMessage ($gridSpacingHeadsUP + $lightSpacing);
                
        }
        
}


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 4 27-07-2011 , 11:30 PM
bullet1968's Avatar
Lifetime Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
I looked everywhere (well nearly) MJ...thanks Gen. This would be nice for me too...as my bloody Survey background DEMANDS some form of true measure...to be able to divide incrementally with a hotkey would be cool...


bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
# 5 28-07-2011 , 01:20 AM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,522
No problem, good to hear its already useful. user added image


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 6 02-08-2011 , 03:02 AM
Subscriber
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Hey, sorry for the late reply GecT...

And wanted to say THANK YOU! Exactly what i was looking for user added image

At first, i didn't understand how it all worked together & connected but finally understand and modified it to my liking user added image

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads