Beer glass scene creation
This course contains a little bit of everything with modeling, UVing, texturing and dynamics in Maya, as well as compositing multilayered EXR's in Photoshop.
# 1 27-06-2012 , 08:25 PM

Having trouble with the scale tool

Ok first things first.... Hello all.

I'm new to Maya, i'm using Maya 2013 x64, I'm currently working through one of the youtube tutorial video's

Modeling tutorial in Maya - a polygon rim - Part 05: adding detail 03 - YouTube

i'm stuck at about 4:34. the bit where the guy scales the spoke back across the 'x scale'

on his video it scales back across his original spoke from the left hand side of the new spoke, when i do it it scales from the centre making it almost impossible to line up correctly again.
has anyone else done this tutorial? if so how did you overcome the problem?

any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Hondr

# 2 27-06-2012 , 08:58 PM
Great community
Welcome hondr, make sure that your Scale Axis is set to Object, the problem may also be in your pivot position, it need to be set in the center of a rim.

C

May the good times and treasures of the present become the golden memories of tomorrow.
# 3 28-06-2012 , 05:53 AM
Ok i'll have a look later and see if i can work out where the pivot point is set.

thankyou user added image

# 4 28-06-2012 , 08:10 AM
Lifetime Member
Nailed it creck, symmetry is your friend. Whenever you model anything try to set your image planes up at the 0,0,0 so its centrally pivoted. I notice in his tut that the rim is slightly spun clockwise in the image plane. I would have rotated that so the Y axis would have split the twin spokes and the centre of the rim would have been at the origin. Welcome aboard Hondr...hope you have fun man. Dont forget there are some nice free tutorials in here and some excellent pay for tuts as well, its a good site for help too.

cheers bullet

bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes